A BOUQUET OF AWARDS: The HEM award collection just got bigger

Vijay Shah

For the second time this month, the Half-Eaten Mind has been nominated for a set of awards from our loyal trusty band of merry  supporters. This time we have two nominations –  from Mumbai-based blogger and keen photographer Ajay of the blog Ajaytao 2010, and from Ginny Brown, an associate director for an American charitable organisation who maintains the “Chasing the Perfect Moment” blog –  a potpourri of photos, essays, stories and writing tidbits.

Ajay himself has been recently nominated a mind-boggling twenty-seven times under several different peer blogger awards. These include the:

  • Shine On award
  • Sunshine award
  • Wonderful Team Member Readership award
  • H.U.G award
  • Very Inspiring Blogger award
  • Super Sweet Blogging award
  • Most Influential Blogger award
  • Best Moment award
  • WordPress Family award
  • Rose of Kindness award
  • Time Again…Unique award
  • The Loyal Reader award
  • Inner Peace award
  • The Most Creative Blogger Award

As per Ajay’s clear instructions, I was permitted to choose three of the above as awards to accept on behalf of HEM. So here are the awards I have plumped for – and I have also included a reason or two why I chose them. Please bear in mind that the blog has already been nominated for some of the above listed gongs before. You can see the entire ‘trophy cabinet’ on the “Directories and Awards” page here.

AWARD NUMERO UNO!!

(c) Ajaytao 2010
(c) Ajaytao 2010

I chose the “Very Inspiring Award” firstly for aesthetic reasons. Who could argue with the transcendental and ethereal beauty of a delicate butterfly that appears to be made of glass, as fragile as the creatures themselves. It is a beautifully designed award, evocative of sepia photography prints beloved of grandparents everywhere. Also this award was chosen for a more personal reason. Writing for the Half-Eaten Mind (as well as managing everything else behind the scenes) has inspired me a great deal in my dreams of succeeding as a reporter some day, as well as inspiring me as a writer, graphic designer and motivating me in my social life. I also hope that my blog has inspired other readers out there to try their hand at blogging/writing/generally being creative, especially so for aspirants for the younger generations who still have so much life ahead of them. I have observed that even among my younger siblings as well as kids and teens in local newspapers and around the area, there is a lot of hidden talent that just needs to be nurtured in the right way, and I am happy to play my own small part in this.

AWARD NUMERO DOS

(c) Ajaytao 2010
(c) Ajaytao 2010

The “WordPress Family award” is our second award of choice. I am eternally grateful to the WordPress blogging platform. Firstly because it is such a great service to use. It’s easy, even for people with limited ICT knowledge. It is usually hassle-free and the WP guys and girls know how to take care of and support their blogging community. Since setting up HEM, I have built up a little community around my blogging activities and got to know some awesome bloggers and friends who have informed and inspired me in a whole host of ways. I really enjoy reading other people’s personal takes on life, outside of the news and media outlets I usually frequent for career- and entertainment-related reasons. I am proud to be part of a close-knit and supportive community on WP, and by accepting this award I want to commemorate that.

Another thing that I am bursting to mention is that I am very family oriented and try to be there for others, blood or not. I dedicate this award to not only my WordPress family who really understand blogging and have helped me a lot along the way, but also to my birth family, especially Alia and Anjali who have taken time out of their busy lives to proffer support and lots of pats-on-the-back as I got this baby running and in the air. Thank you, each and every one of you.

AWARD NUMERO TRES

(c) Ajaytao 2010
(c) Ajaytao 2010

The last of Ajaybhai’s awards I will be pinning to my already hefty chest is this. The “Loyal Reader award“. I chose this one because firstly it is one of the most funkily designed awards I have ever been nominated for. I mean, look at all those crazy colours and flower motifs. The Loyal Reader reminds me of MTV graphics for disco shows or something. It makes me feel like I am back in the days of Woodstock and ‘flower power’ (though technically I was not alive then). This will be a real good talking piece on the HEM virtual hearth. But visual appearances aside, this award goes out to the many loyal readers I have picked up over a year of writing and reporting – many who have kept the momentum going with the Twitter follows, likes, comments and, of course, the many highly valued awards nominations. Likewise I have tried to reciprocate as much as possible, which is commendable considering my day job, other responsibilities and just the struggle of being alive. This means quickly scrolling through the reader and returning likes and comments when time is at a premium. That is true especially during working hours, when I may only get a few minutes at lunchtime or early in the morning before the job hours tick in. But every second is worth it.

 

To finish off, I would also like to announce that I have been nominated for one award by Ginny, who has chosen for me the “Wonderful Team Member Readership award” with its zany, but reassuringly friendly French Renaissance metallurgical sun. Just like Ajay, Ginny has pulled in an impressive haul of online awards, of which she has very kindly shared this one with me. The award calls for the nominee to pass on the award to fourteen others on their blogrolls, but as I have already done this before, I am going to relax the rules here and allow readers to choose this award for themselves if they so desire. By the way, the same also applies to Ajay’s awards. It may not be a buffet, but you can still help yourself. Go ahead. I won’t bite. 🙂 🙂 🙂

(c) Chasing the Perfect Moment
(c) Chasing the Perfect Moment

 

To both good friends Ajay and Ginny, I thank you from the bottom of my heart and I really appreciate these kind little gifts. I wish you both the best in your blogs and in your fortunes. Bless you both and best wishes .

Those who wish to read the original articles by Ajaytao2010 and Chasing the Perfect Moment can find the links in the “Sources/Image Credits” at the bottom of this blogpost.

(c) Mots Sapiens Project Wiki

(Apologies if you find mice scary!!)

RELATED NEWS from Zemanta

Related articles

SOURCES/IMAGE CREDITS:
“Awards” – Ginny Brown, Chasing the Perfect Moment (27 April 2012) LINK 
“Bouquet of Super Awards – 27 Nominations” – Ajay, Ajaytao 2010 (24 June 2013) LINK 
“Thank you.gif” – Mots Sapiens Project Wiki/Wikia Entertainment LINK ( Original copyright belongs to “Pictures Animations.com LINK )

 

16 thoughts on “A BOUQUET OF AWARDS: The HEM award collection just got bigger

  1. Ajaytao2010 June 29, 2013 / 10:02 pm

    than you so much dear Vijaybhai

    Like

    • halfeatenmind June 29, 2013 / 10:52 pm

      You are so very welcome, Ajaybhai. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

      Vijay
      – HalfEatenMind

      Like

      • Ajaytao2010 June 30, 2013 / 4:14 am

        thank you dear Vijaybhai

        Like

  2. Lorraine Marie Reguly June 30, 2013 / 9:17 pm

    Congratulations on your awards! It is nice to learn about the existence of other blogs online! Whomever created these awards was pretty smart!

    Thanks also for linking to my blog. That gesture is a big compliment, and I thank you for it!

    I love the title of your blog, by the way!

    Like

    • halfeatenmind July 1, 2013 / 8:42 am

      Thank you so much Lorraine,
      They are great awards, and the greatest thing about them is that they are so democratic. You don’t have to jump through hoops to try to prove yourself. You just have to be yourself!.
      Oh it’s nothing, really, but thanks for your appreciation 🙂 …and for liking my blog’s name.

      Kindest regards,
      Vijay
      – HalfEatenMind

      Like

      • Lorraine Marie Reguly July 1, 2013 / 7:35 pm

        🙂

        Like

  3. BeWithUs July 1, 2013 / 5:46 am

    Congratulations, my friend!

    Have a lovely Monday ahead~ Cheers!! 😀

    Like

    • halfeatenmind July 1, 2013 / 8:54 am

      Hi CloudsnCups!

      Thank you very much, and the same to you 🙂

      Vijay
      – HalfEatenMind

      Like

      • BeWithUs July 3, 2013 / 7:25 am

        You’re welcome, my friend! Cheers~ 😀

        Like

  4. Lorraine Marie Reguly May 28, 2014 / 4:36 am

    Hi! I am leaving this comment because I would like for you to update your Shine On Award post with the correct link. I am going to be deleting my old site (Lorraine Reguly’s Life) and so would really appreciate it if you could update your post with a link to Wording Well. This is my new site, and because I have moved my “old” post to my “new” site, you will be left with a broken link if you don’t change it. I don’t want this to happen! Besides http://wordingwell.com/the-shine-on-award/is still the same post it always was, but the domain name has changed. This may not seem like a big deal to you, but it is to me. Please, can you change this for me? (Thanks!)

    Like

    • halfeatenmind May 31, 2014 / 5:02 pm

      Hi Lorraine,

      Unfortunately I have no way of changing the link, as it was issued by Zemanta, but as you have included a link to the new article in your comment, that will out out the problem.

      Vijay

      Like

Leave a Reply

