BUTTERFLY LIGHT AWARD: Nomination by Don Charisma

On the 10th April, 2014, the Half-Eaten Mind was nominated by Don Charisma (doncharisma.org) for what I can describe as our first ever award with moving parts….well virtually speaking.

It is spring here in London, and while I have seen a few daffodils start springing up in ordered rows in the Newham parks near where I live, I have yet to see a butterfly. Plenty of house flies and a handful of bees mind you, but not one bleeding butterfly. No cabbage whites, no monarchs, no British blues, nadda, zilch, shunya, nothing. Nevertheless, Don Charisma has brought in a bit of spring fever all the way from sunny Thailand with this amazing new gift: The Butterfly Light Award.

(c) original designer via Don Charisma

The Butterfly Light Award (BLA) is a blogging award meant for those beautiful bloggers who have spread light into other people’s lives. Now while I am usually disseminating hard news stories, some of which can be quite depressing, I also make an effort to write blogposts and articles that are useful, fun and bring happiness and the light of knowledge to readers’ lives. Just like the BLA I make a big deal of colour, movement and joy on my blog, because at the end of the day, when there is so much strife and unhappiness in the world, I do want to make a difference, even a small one to someone’s life and goings-on.

DC features the BLA prominently on his blog. The colourful award with its butterfly behind rippling frosted glass and rays of sunshine is a majestic sight to behold – as far as award badges go. It has even earned a nickname from the Don himself; the Disco Flutterby Award.

DC received the award from Belinda from the ‘idiotwriting’ blog. I am not sure if Ms. Belinda created the BLA herself but she had asked the Don to release her offering into general circulation and the Half-Eaten Mind is privileged to be the first listed nominee for it. The back story goes that DC helped Belinda with an incessant malware problem, on account of Charisma’s expertise with technology repair. The problem was fixed expertly, and Belinda rewarded the Don with this sumptuous thank you gift now rippling just above these paragraphs.

DC’s flutterby nickname for the BLA comes from the fact that “partly because I can’t read, and partly because when I first saw it I wasn’t thinking on anything. What I saw was a disco mirror ball with coloured lights. It became apparent later that it’s actually a butterfly, so jokingly, I’d added the Flutterby, like kids or dyslexics might mis-say.” (DC’s own words). Interestingly I once remembered hearing a nursery rhyme which may have been either an old British or an old American one, where a butterfly is described as a flutterby, but just like a butterfly, it seems to have left my half-eaten brains and fluttered somewhere. I’m sure Google will help you solve the mystery.

Conditions For Accepting The Award

Don Charisma has added a couple of conditions for accepting the award :

1. You must write an acceptance post, making sure you link back to the blogger who awarded you and thank them. You MAY NOT lump this award in with a batch of other awards.

2. You must individually name and re-award to a minimum of 1 and a maximum of 9999999 bloggers. You must let them know either personally with a comment on their blog OR a pingback (I’d suggest their about page)

3. You must link back to Belinda’s blog either to http://idiotwriting.wordpress.com/2014/03/13/i-love-charismatic-geeks/ OR http://idiotwriting.wordpress.com/about/

4. You must write a short paragraph (yes only one paragraph – damn this is easy) – Entitled either “How I’m Spreading Light” OR “How I’m A Positive Influence”

5. Display Belinda’s lovely “Butterfly Light Award” badge on your blog.

How I’m A Positive Influence

While I am a journalist, and journalism is very much about detailing the negative as well as the positive, I do try to make a positive impact in my reporting. I try not to offend people and always pay more than lip service to the reporter’s essential values or accuracy, objectivity and telling the truth. My blog is a small ‘window on the world’ and I want to give as clear and unobstructed view as feasibly possible. I often reach out to other bloggers via awards articles like this one, and enjoy bringing a smile to their faces, not just through the awards themselves but also through writing sympathetically and knowledgeably about them. I occasionally write on social issues such as an article on a UK mental health charity published in 2012. On a personal level, my blog has been a source of pride among my family and friends and I have collaborated with my youngest sister Anjali on a few articles. That has helped her gain more confidence and keeps a big smile on her face, while showing her talents which normally otherwise are left understated.

Awardees

I’m awarding this “The Butterfly Light Award” to :

(awardees chosen from the HEM Bloggers Twitter feed)

1. Vincent (Real Poems)

2. Johanna Bradley (RESTLESSJO)

3. Tanumoy Biswas (The Nomadic Soliloquist)

4. Andrew Ginsburg (Andrew S. Ginsburg)

5. Sage Doyle (SageDoyle ~ Fiction & Poetry)

6. Eduardo Meza-Etienne (Aquamosh’s Blog)

7. Lil Family Adventure (Little Family Adventure)

A big hearty thanks to Don Charisma for including me in his own awardees list  followed by a massive congratulations to all of my selected nominees!! 🙂

…and as we are on the theme of butterflies, here’s a traditional HEM choice animated GIF to go with our latest award.

BREAKING NEWS!!!
 
The Half-Eaten Mind has also been nominated for this same award by Mahesh Nair of “Write Might” on the 11th April 2014.
I would also like to thank Mahesh for once again kindly considering me for this unique award.

(c) midnightgemini via Sodahead

SOURCES:
“The Butterfly Light Award … Disco Flutterby Award :)” – Don Charisma, DonCharisma.org (10 April 2014) LINK
IMAGE CREDITS:
“The Butterfly Light Award … Disco Flutterby Award :)” – Don Charisma, DonCharisma.org (10 April 2014) LINK
“COMING TO REBECKA’S RAVE PARTY ???” – AGAINST OBAMA-MARY, SodaHead (21 February 2010) LINK
Enhanced by Zemanta
Posted on April 12, 2014, in Awards articles and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. Wow, thank you! I think you should be my agent lol. I don’t do the awards on the Sage Doyle blog anymore, what I do instead is just make a post thanking the person who awarded me, then I put the award and link to that person’s blog on my award page. Does that sound all right with you? Thanks so much, and congratulations again!

    Like

  2. Now, how to respond? Aside from the fact that this is such a very pretty award and would look so nice fluttering in my sidebar…. and being very flattered to be included in your nominations.
    Not long ago I did a 6WS post which stated that I won’t be doing any more awards posts http://restlessjo.wordpress.com/2014/03/22/six-word-saturday-105/. I can’t really go back on that, can I? However tempting! Though you could most certainly have a mention on my Awards page. I guess no nice flutter-by for me! Though I have seen one or two flitting about the flowers up here in the north east this week 🙂 (not today- it’s freezing!) Many thanks for thinking of me.

    Like

    • Oh okay I understand. It’s no problem. A mention sounds nice 🙂

      Glad to have read your kind words and hopefully we will be seeing some more ‘flutterbies’ once summer makes its presence felt.

      Kindest regards,

      Vijay

      Like

  3. Vijay, what can I say dude, thanks for the mentions, and thanks for YOU BEING AWESOME … I really appreciate your help and support 🙂 Warmest regards Don Charisma

    Like

  4. Congrats again!!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Thank you so much for the award. This was a nice surprise this morning. I really appreciate the love.
    Best regards, Nicky

    Like

Leave a Reply

