A-MAY-ZING AWARDS: Sage Doyle gifts HEM first batch of awards for May

The Half-Eaten Mind is pleased to announce that, now with April having drawn to a close and the warmer days of May upon us, our good friend Sage Doyle has kindly gifted us with four awards, including one never before received accolade.

Sage himself had picked up a spate of blogging awards recently, partly due to the concerted efforts of an Anglo-Mauritian guy in London with a virtual green-and-brown owl and a news blog or something along those lines. He had received multiple awards over the past couple of months, and on the 27th April (last weekend) he was able to express via his blog just how amazed he was. In return he has passed on these awards to around a hundred bloggers, including the Half-Eaten Mind.

Sage’s hefty awards packages, while not having the monetary clout of a Barclays banker’s bonus, is certainly a more enriching gift. One package consists of around six awards which Sage has offered rule and obligation-free to all of his blogging comrades. Out of this generous package, I have accepted the Angel Award (original version). This award traditionally has one requirement – that the recipient write an appropriate acceptance post, which I think this article will more than adequately cover.

Angel Award

(c) original designer via Sage Doyle

Sage’s second package consists of awards that are being handed to particular bloggers, and the three awards further down the page you’re reading are the ones that Sage has nominated this blog for. Some we have already accepted, one however is a totally new addition to the HEM awards cabinet. Here we go!!!

Dragon’s Loyalty Award

(c) original designer via Sage Doyle

Sage was awarded this by two bloggers, with the following blogs:  http://mytrainofthoughtson.wordpress.com/ and http://worldofharley.wordpress.com/

Rules:

1. Display the Award on your Blog.
2. Announce your win with a post and thank the Blogger who awarded you.
3. Write seven interesting things about you
4. Present 15 deserving Bloggers with the Award
5. Link your nominees in the post and let them know of their being awarded.

Seven “interesting” things about me:

1. When I was younger, I had two dogs in my family, both German Shepherd Dogs, also known as Alsatians. Their names were Leo and Jake. I also had three rabbits, Snowy, Whitie and Brownie.

2. The last film I watched was the remake of the movie Robocop. I did not feel it was as good as the original although it had a nice storyline with a positive message about family.

3. I currently live in a two-floor terraced house in Plaistow, east London, where I have been residing since March 2013. It is a shared house with other tenants (housemates) and our landlord is this rather scatterbrained Bangladeshi man who is a non-practising barrister. Two of my housemates have recently left. One moved to Brighton to live with her partner and one was a Hungarian guy who liked cooking chicken and onions and was apparently allowed to take his room without having to pay a deposit first. He left recently for what was assumed to be a two-month holiday to visit his girlfriend in Hungary but never bothered to stump up the deposit. He ended up losing the room. The last housemate, a systems analyst from India, is currently away back home for two weeks.

4. My last major shopping purchase was a Archos Cobalt 80 tablet which I bought from the Tesco Outlet on eBay for just under £50.00 about a month or so back. I was so happy to have bought it. Even though it was a refurbished model, the tablet is fast, has good resolution and I even treated it to its own faux-leather case to keep it safe from bumps and scratches.

5. I bear an uncanny resemblance to Jon Tickle, a presenter of the hilarious Brainiacs: Science Abuse series that explores science in a funny, informal and laddish way. Ironically the term Brainiac is also an unofficial term I use to describe my readers.

6. I once rode a horse called Stranger. I believe he was coloured brown or black if my memory serves me well. I was about five at the time, and despite the presence of a horsehand and safety apparatus, I was scared fartless.

7. I have never understood the trend of some men in wearing pink garments (shirts, t-shirts etc). Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m all for freedom of choice in the sartorial department, but I don’t think any man could seriously pull off that look. It just looks too girly (apologies if I sound somewhat sexist here). I personally would not be seen dead in a pink shirt.

Seed of Light Award

(c) original designer via Sage Doyle

Sage collected this award from a blogger trading under the URL http://belsbror.wordpress.com/

The essence and strapline of this award, which the Half-Eaten Mind has been nominated for the first time ever is “All you need to start a forest is one seed”. I suppose this can mean that it just takes one small idea or step or a single word on the laptop screen to start something much bigger and influential. You have to begin somewhere.

This is an award especially for blogs that inspire creativity, nature, connection, communications and beauty. I certainly have let my creative side rampage throughout the Half-Eaten Mind and I appeal to people’s natures with much of what I write. And I do try to make the blog look nice, I hope so.

Rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you.

2. Nominate at least 5 blogs and provide links to their blogs.

3. Notify each of their nominations.

To make things easy for myself, I am going to nominate a set number of bloggers and will pass this award onto them along with the other zingers featured here. Hopefully the Seed of Light Award Integrity Authority won’t set their heavies down to my house to break my legs or violently disturb my cutlery. In any case, it wasn’t me, it was Shaggy!.

Beautiful Blogger Award

Now this one is special. Special not because I hadn’t received it before, because that is not the case, but for how Sage himself presented it on his blog after I awarded it to him in April. On Twitter, I operate a special retweeting policy for this blog’s account, where I retweet or share every blogpost I like from the HEM Community, and occasionally for blogs and sites beyond ‘the pale’. Sage is one of the bloggers who I regularly retweet, and which he always thanks me for. I suppose some of you might be wondering that my constant re-distribution of Sage’s novel chapters on the adventures of Amon-Re might make me a prime candidate for a harassment lawsuit, but in reality, it’s far from that. In fact me and Sage have an inside joke that I should be his press agent, which is no surprise given my promotional skills and experience in press activities (i.e this blog you’re reading). Even in his awards article for which he re-nominated me for the Beautiful Blogger, he mentions that I really should be a literary agent. Now there’s an extra career I could look into.

Just to prove my point, here’s what Sage wrote in his nomination:

https://halfeatenmind.wordpress.com/ – Now this one here, I seriously want to be my agent, or press agent or something.  This is the blogger who has re-tweeted more of my tweets than anyone else, including myself.  He has given me most of the awards that I’ve posted today.  I can tell that in real life, if he’s your friend, then you’ve got the most loyal friend you could ask for.  I honestly have no idea how to fully express my appreciation for the support he has given me.  So far, this is the best way.  Thank you.

Thanks so much for these kind words. I am truly honoured to be your friend and to share and witness your outstanding literary talents. I don’t even have much space for books in my room here but I would honestly go out of my way to get Sage’s book when it hits the shelves of London’s bibliotheques sometime in the future.

Rules:

1. Copy the Beautiful Blogger Award logo.

2. Thank the person who nominated you and create a link back.

3. Nominate 7 (yes only seven) other bloggers and say a little something about them.

The original article for Sage’s blog bounty can be found at this link: http://wallgrimm.wordpress.com/2014/04/27/humbled-by-all-these-awards/

The Nominees:

As mentioned before, I am going to nominate a set bunch of lucky bloggers to receive all the awards mentioned in this article. As always, you do not have to accept if you do not want to, but this is just a way of communicating across my appreciation of your work and of the support you have given me over the past few months. If you accept, you can choose to accept all or some of the prizes. In support of this aim, I have selected nominees from recent likes and comments on the Half-Eaten Mind towards the end of April.

Our nominees are:

1. franciscojaviertostado

2. superduque777

3. Laxiuz

4. Two on a Rant

5. The Other Side of Ugly – Letters to Humanity

6. The Reading Girl

7. Ruben Demirjian

8. sachemspeaks 

9. kaligrafinusantaraonline 

10. uthamz

A very big congratulations to all the nominees. I hope I have given your weekend…the first one of May…just that little extra sweetness.

The Big Thank You

To Sage Doyle, I just want to wholeheartedly thank you for your kindness in nominating me these lovely awards, for all of your entertaining reads and for of course rating me as your number one unofficial press agent.

(c) animatedimages.org
SOURCE:
“Humbled by All These Awards!” – Sage Doyle, “The Journal of Wall Grimm” (27 April 2014) LINK
IMAGE CREDITS:
“Humbled by All These Awards!” – Sage Doyle, “The Journal of Wall Grimm” (27 April 2014) LINK
“animated-thank-you-image-0019” – animatedimages.org LINK
Enhanced by Zemanta
13 thoughts on “A-MAY-ZING AWARDS: Sage Doyle gifts HEM first batch of awards for May

  1. franciscojaviertostado May 3, 2014 / 4:11 pm

    Thanks for the new nomination. We are honored that you consider my blog in such high esteem.
    A hug.

    Like

  2. sagedoyle May 3, 2014 / 5:08 pm

    Wow, I give you awards and this acceptance post mentions me a lot. It seems like I’m just stating the obvious, but I don’t know, getting all shy and humble now. Thanks for all you said, you’re welcome for your write-up, which you deserve immensely, and congratulations. Seriously, if I could pay you, I’d hire you lol

    Like

    • halfeatenmind May 3, 2014 / 7:10 pm

      Hahahaha…oh it’s nothing really…you did deserve it 🙂

      Kindest regards,

      Vijay

      Like

  3. Just Patty May 3, 2014 / 9:12 pm

    Congratz! Well deserved! 🙂
    Love & Hugz ❤

    Like

  4. kaligrafinusantaraonline May 4, 2014 / 1:06 pm

    Congratulations dear friend !!

    and thank you for nominating calligraphy archipelago

    may god bless you always

    best wishes always

    Like

    • halfeatenmind May 4, 2014 / 4:16 pm

      You’re very welcome!!
      Thanks for your blessings!!

      Vijay

      Like

  5. The Reading Girl May 6, 2014 / 11:44 pm

    so you nominated me for all these awards? heavens! lol 🙂 thanks and congrats

    Like

Leave a Reply

