GIFT OF GRATEFULNESS: Versatile Blogger Award from Kim

On the 7th of July, 2014 (this past Monday) the Half-Eaten Mind has been kindly blessed with its first peer-offered blogging award since May. The Versatile Blogger Award, complete with a special trophy badge, was awarded by a good friend, Kim Gosselin, who writes on the blog “Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons“. We would like to humbly thank Kim for considering this blog to be adorned with a very fine and shining gold accolade.

(c) original designer via K. Gosselin

Kim’s blog consists of a series of articles revolving around her family, parenthood, life issues and general observations. Born in the northern American state of Michigan, home to big lakes and big cars, Kim is the eldest of five children. Deeply family-oriented, she lives her life without prejudice and celebrates the diversity of the world around her. Her hobbies are many and wide-ranging, running the gamut from films, travelling, nature,and spending time with her family and friends, to morning coffees, reading, writing, mentoring, music and the theatre.

She married in her twenties and is blessed with two sons. While her children have always brought her joy and happiness, she has also had to be a strong mother in that her boys both were diagnosed with chronic conditions, namely Type A diabetes and asthma. She has used her writing talents to produce books for other mothers in her social circle to help them better understand raising and understanding children with such impacting health issues. She is also a grandmother to a baby girl and boy. Her life experiences and writing skills, honed as a self-employed business owner/children’s author of 16 titles and 26 other published works, were brought into the online world in October 2013, when she began acquainting herself with the blogging platform WordPress, and “Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons” eventually took shape.

To my surprise the words came spewing out. Not like the books I used to write for children years ago. Instead, a whole new voice burst forth from inside my head. I couldn’t sleep at night or wait to get up before the sun would rise. With coffee by my side, I’d hunt for letters on my keyboard in the moon of the morning. Passion hooked me once again!

– Kim Gosselin

(c) K. Gosselin
(c) K. Gosselin

Kim received her award from Susanne Leist at http://susanneleist.wordpress.com/. Kim described this award as “beautiful in gold, tall and true, it is a symbol of support and admiration for my work”. Unlike other versions of the Versatile Blogger award badge, which feature old-fashioned print graphics, Kim’s version from her friend Susanne depicts a golden trophy engraved with the name of the award. It is quite like the little trophies you might get for winning a class football tournament at school.

Here is Kim’s nomination article:

Gratefulness

Rules of Acceptance

List 7 Fun Facts about Yourself

1. I must be the luckiest man in the world when it comes to buying lunch at work, as my office sits directly above a Sainsbury’s supermarket. I therefore do not have to walk very far to get snacked up on sandwiches, chocolates, fruits or whatever I feel like, within Sainsbury’s remit.

2. I’m normally a quiet person, but I can talk for ages and ages until my mouth gives up on me.

3. I’ve recently got the hang of cooking rice. A very useful skill if you’re half South Asian.

4. I am very fascinated by the ins and outs of journalism, especially the latest developments in it. It is the career I studied for at university and why I have this blog.

5. I am very fussy about cleanliness and personal hygiene, but will leave stuff all over my room’s floor.

6. I was recently stung by a wasp on my way to work. It somehow found itself between my vest and stomach and discharged its sting as my clothing rubbed on it while I was walking. It stung like hell, before the insect, which was probably at the end of its lifespan anyway, fell to the pavement. Talk about going out with a bang!

7. At my workplace, there are two ladies who seem to have crushes on me. Both are redheads (one is more ginger). I also had a stalker who pretty much obsessed over me for four years. I gave her short shrift.

Nominate 15 Deserving Bloggers for This Prestigious Award  

1. Foxy-O

2. Casual Blogger

3. Vera Komnig 

4. LFFL 

5. Mirror of your Health

6. Smorgasbord

7. purpleraysblog

8. Doru 

9. jorobinson176 

10. TheCrazyBagLady

11. Conrad

12. rabirius 

13. MsTranquility 

14. Ileana 

15. AshiAkira 

Congratulations to all the lucky recipients of the Versatile Blogger Award. It is not incumbent upon you to accept, but it is my way of showing gratitude for your support and just for being cool people really.

All nominees were chosen from recent likes on my blog around 6th to 7th June.

CORRECTION:

Kim Gosselin would like to state for the record, that she sold her children’s publishing company back in 2000. Although she retained author’s copyrights, she does not receive royalty fees, etc.

– Amended 19/07/2014 V.S.

SOURCES:
“Gratefulness” – Kim Gosselin, Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons (7 July 2014) http://kimgosselinblog.com/2014/07/07/gratefulness/
“About Me” – Kim Gosselin, Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons http://kimgosselinblog.com/about-me/
“Directories & Awards” – Vijay Shah, The Half-Eaten Mind https://halfeatenmind.wordpress.com/links-awards/
IMAGE CREDITS:
“Gratefulness” – Kim Gosselin, Chronic Conditions & Life Lessons (7 July 2014) http://kimgosselinblog.com/2014/07/07/gratefulness/
24 thoughts on “GIFT OF GRATEFULNESS: Versatile Blogger Award from Kim

  1. jorobinson176 July 12, 2014 / 4:44 pm

    More congratulations! And on getting the rice right too – can be tricky sometimes. 😉 Thank you very much for including me in your nominations – love it! 🙂

    Like

    • halfeatenmind July 12, 2014 / 6:28 pm

      Thanks so much Jo. Haha, now I make the fluffiest rice…well almost.
      You’re very welcome, you’ve been very supportive of HEM and you deserved this award.

      Vijay

      Like

  2. Foxy-O July 12, 2014 / 10:36 pm

    Congratulations to you, and thank you for the nomination! I really appreciate it 🙂 I’m behind in accepting nominations, but will get to it at some point.

    Like

    • halfeatenmind July 13, 2014 / 3:48 pm

      Thanks & welcome, Foxy-O. Not to worry, sometime these awards do backlog a bit haha!

      Vijay

      Like

  3. kcg1974 July 14, 2014 / 10:29 pm

    Hi Vijay: Thank you for such a lovely tribute-totally unexpected! A couple of corrections. 1) I did not design, The Versatile Blogger’s trophy badge. Don’t know who or where it came from. 2) I sold my children’s publishing company back in 2000. Although I retained my author’s copyrights, I no longer receive royalty fees, etc.

    Like

    • halfeatenmind July 19, 2014 / 4:47 pm

      Oh I see…the badge is credited to you as the blogger I recieved it from, and the person who created the badge should be listed as ‘original designer’, but I will double-check. I’ll also take note of the second correction. Thanks for letting me know, Kim.

      Vijay

      Like

      • kcg1974 July 20, 2014 / 9:15 pm

        No worries, Vijay. It gets confusing, I know. A lovely “Acceptance” to me you wrote. So kind of you. Thank you, again. Smiles to you. 🙂

        Like

      • halfeatenmind July 26, 2014 / 4:00 pm

        🙂
        Very glad you liked it, Kim

        Vijay

        Like

  4. LFFL July 15, 2014 / 11:25 am

    Thanks so much, Vijay!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

