NEW LIEBSTER: Nomination by Part-Time Monster

On the 22nd of February 2014, the Half-Eaten Mind collected another award (the Liebster Award) from one of the newest members of our tribe, Diana. She skilfully runs the ‘Part Time Monster’ blog, whose current header you can see below. It is probably the third or fourth version of the Liebster Award we have now polished and readied-up for the HEM awards cabinet.

Part Time Monster is a multi-contributor blog whose army of contributors, called Monsters, write on all things nerdy.  There are quite a few people making the Monster magnificent while Diana (the Chief Monster, you could say) also runs the blog as a personal writing space. Part Time Monster has an emphasis on female-centric articles, serving a small but nevertheless significant addition to the formidable library of the world’s female literary talent. Many of the contributors are Diana’s friends and work colleagues.

(c) Diane / Part Time Monster
(c) Diane / Part Time Monster

 

Here is how Diana describes her multi-faceted approach to living life:

I am a PhD student, mother of a four year old son (the Little Jedi), partner of an independent filmmaker (who you can find at Universal Half Truths), college English instructor, writing tutor, and guardian of a rescue pup (Tank). I wear many hats. I’m also a tremendous nerd. I am a sufferer of panic disorder, a curator of the weird, a lover of the beautiful, and a pop culture aficionado. Writing here will thus feature an array of content; I am sometimes a monster.

Like the Half-Eaten Mind, Diana and her Monsters write on a variety of subjects. Recent articles include a commentary on teaching children on racial relations and combating ageism and an article on the “brief history of the Rings of Power”. In many ways, Diane is a mirror soul to myself and I have a profound respect for her and what she has achieved.

The Liebster Award is partly named for the German word ‘liebe’, meaning love. It symbolises love and affection in the blogging community and is dedicated to those who have helped spread that love. Traditionally it was given to bloggers with less than 200 followers but the rules have been bent and made a bit flexible nowadays.

Via Diane @ Part Time Monster

The Rules:

  • You must link back to the person who nominated you.
  • Answer 11 questions from the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new bloggers and ask them 11 questions.
  • You cannot nominate the person who nominated you.
  • You must let the people you nominate know they have been nominated.

And now, the questions from PTM

1. What is one thing that others have on their bucket list that you never want to do?

To be honest, I have never seen or asked to see other people’s bucket lists. Also bucket lists are not a commonpplace thing where I come from, so it would be hard to answer this question. Anything involving things that I am afraid of, or things that go against my morality, beliefs or abilities is definitely off the menu. So taking part in a cockroach-eating contest, bungee-diving or anything like that is a big no-no.

2. If you could only watch one TV show for the rest of your life, what would it be, and why?

I would honestly go mad if I had to watch one television show for the rest of my days, but under duress from balaclava-shod squirrels with AK47s I would say it would probably be The Simpsons. Those yellow folks and their high jinks always put a smile on my face and they never get old (literally).

3. What historical event that you’ve lived through made the most impact on you?

Probably the Tube and bus bombings of July 2005 in my home city of London. At that time I was a university student and regularly used the Tube on weekends. I was on summer break so was not using the trains to a significant degree and the first I heard of it was when my mother rushed upstairs to my bedroom to tell me. It was a shocking and horrible event, that brought the reality of terrorism very close to home. While the repercussions and memories of 7/7 still live to this day, one thing this incident has shown me is that us Londoners are a resilient lot and we came away stronger and more defiant because of it.

4. When you were a child, what did you think you would grow up to be?

I remember when I was in secondary school, I was telling my classmates that I wanted to be a veterinarian or a naturalist. I kept this desire in my heart until about fifteen years of age, but upon realising the amount of years of study I would have to put in (which my family could have never afforded,and may have even been the wrong choice for me), I dropped this dream and went for something I had proven talent in: journalism.

5. What book or books do you re-read most often? If there isn’t one, what film or music do you return to often?

I normally love reading books, but due to various other commitments, I do not really find the time to get lost in a good tome these days. There is one book that I own that I am really keen to re-read and that is “Brick Lane” by Monica Ali. It tells the story of a Bangladeshi woman who emigrates to Eighties Tower Hamlets and her struggle to live her life and take care of a family in very trying circumstances. A bit controversial in places but worth a read.

6. If you could choose 5 historical figures to have dinner with, who would they be, and where would the 6 of you have dinner?

My five chosen historical diners would be 1) Swami Vivekanand 2) Sir Seewoosagar Ramgoolam 3) Martin Luther King 4) Alexander (the Great) of Macedon and 5) Florence Nightingale. I would probably chose a English country house with a member of my family being the chef au excellence!….mince curry and naan bread do great conversational starters make.

7. What is your favorite piece of art?

Anything surrealist, particularly Salvador Dali, also traditional Indian art, such as Rajasthani miniatures and devotional paintings.

8. What’s your favorite season, and why?

My favourite season would have to be spring. We’ve just made it out of the harshness of winter, people’s gardens are exploding in a cacophony of colours and smells and it is not yet too hot and humid as a London summer will always be. It is a time to look forward to longer days and nicer weather (as far as the British meteorological preponderance for washout rain will allow) and everyone seems to perk up a bit more, even when in the temple of dour faces and missing conversations that is the Underground train network.

9. Why did you start your blog, and why do you continue to blog?

I began my blog to help develop and nourish my newswriting skills and my writing in general. I have considered starting up a blog at least since 2007, and a friend of mine who attended university with me suggested I start one with WordPress. But as luck would have it, I never got round to it until about five years later, when my ex-girlfriend suggested the idea and even influenced the name behind it. My very first article was on the Shard tower, which was under construction at the time, and since then I have never looked back. As for my continuing blogging, I find it an enjoyable activity. I have a lot of freedom to write about what what I want and being my own editor. I find blogging therapeutic and it helps me fill the spare time. I also enjoy the sense of community and support I receive from other bloggers. Plus when I ever go for an interview for a journalism-related vacancy, the Half-Eaten Mind will make a good talking point and might even win me brownie points with the manager.

10. If you could be anywhere with anyone right now, where would you be and who would you be with?

I would be in Barcelona with my brother Suraj and sister Anjali, enjoying the beaches and visiting the city’s beautiful building and posing for hordes of silly photos. The reason I say this is because they have just come back yesterday from a five-day school trip to the Catalan capital. Actually it would really be nice for us to have a family holiday there.

11. What’s the most spontaneous thing you’ve ever done?

I am not really a spontaneous person, unless you count emergencies and that sort of thing. I always like to think things through before I do them or commit to anything.

My own Liebster ten:

1. What inspired you or motivated you to begin blogging?

2. Who has been the most influential person in your life?

3. If you were to open up your own restaurant, what kind of cuisine/s would you have and what features would it have i.e. bar, jacuzzi?

4. Where did you last go for holiday (vacation) and what activities did you do over there?

5. If you are working, what do you most like and hate about your job? –  for those who are unemployed, retired or otherwise not currently in the ’employment market’, what do you like/hate about not working?

6. If you were a cartoon character, which one would you be?

7. If I was to visit your city/town/village/hamlet, where would you show me as a tourist attraction and why?

8. What is your most treasured personal possession?

9. Name one really eventful thing that happened in your blogging career?

10. What is your favourite song of the moment?

11. What is your favourite aspect of the Half-Eaten Mind. It can be anything, general or specific, content-wise or design-wise.

And the nominees are:

1:- http://petitemagique.wordpress.com/

2:- http://theforesterartist.com/

3:- http://kaligrafinusantaraonline.wordpress.com/

4:- http://thewritemight.me/

5:- http://writetolivelivetowrite.com/

6:- http://afriendofjesus2013.com/

7:- http://lossentidosdelavida.wordpress.com/

8:- http://angelartstar.wordpress.com/

9:- http://383g.wordpress.com/

10:- http://detectingblackpool.wordpress.com/

11:- http://japan-hub.com/

You should receive a pingback once this article has been published. First of all, congratulations on being nominated as a recipient of the Liebster Award. It is entirely your decision if you wish to accept, and if you choose not to, no hard feelings :).

I would like to once again thank Diana for nominating me and wish her a wonderfully bright weekend.

(c) GifBay.com via Giphy.com

 

SOURCES & IMAGE CREDITS:
“A NEW LIEBSTER” – Diana Gordon, Part Time Monster (22 February 2014) LINK
“MEET THE MONSTER” – Diana Gordon, Part Time Monster LINK
“THANK YOU ANIMATED GIF” – Giphy.com LINK
Enhanced by Zemanta

19 thoughts on “NEW LIEBSTER: Nomination by Part-Time Monster

  1. kaligrafinusantaraonline March 1, 2014 / 12:34 pm

    Congratulations dear friend

    and thank you so much for nominating kaligrafinusantara in new liebster award

    Like

    • halfeatenmind March 2, 2014 / 3:22 pm

      Hi IdealisticRebel,

      Thanks so much for your incredible appreciation and reblog 🙂

      Vijay

      Like

  2. Just Patty March 1, 2014 / 1:38 pm

    Congratz! And thank you so much for nominating me again! 🙂
    I am honored and shall make a post soon.
    Lots of love and hugz!

    Like

    • halfeatenmind March 2, 2014 / 3:36 pm

      You’re very welcome, Patty 🙂

      Many sunny hugs coming your way!!

      Vijay

      Like

    • halfeatenmind March 2, 2014 / 3:57 pm

      Thank you so much Ann, and you’re very welcome!!

      God bless!

      Vijay

      Like

  3. Diana March 1, 2014 / 7:05 pm

    Oh, I’m so excited to peruse the blogs you nominated! Thanks for a wonderful thank-you note on this. One of the fun things about blogging is how the awards change and are used to recommend other bloggers. 🙂

    Like

    • halfeatenmind March 2, 2014 / 4:00 pm

      You’re very welcome, Diana.

      It is indeed a world of discovery out there, both for the different kinds of awards and for finding out new bloggers.

      Vijay

      Like

  4. lmjapan March 2, 2014 / 9:12 am

    Thanks so much for nominating my blog for the Liebster! And, of course, congratulations on your nomination as well. I’m going to have to give “Brick Lane” a try, hopefully my library will have it.

    Like

  5. BeWithUs March 3, 2014 / 10:59 am

    Congratulations, my friend! Very well-deserved I must say.

    Happy Monday and Cheers!! 😀

    Like

    • halfeatenmind March 8, 2014 / 4:38 pm

      Thank you so much, friend 🙂

      A very happy weekend to you!!

      Vijay

      Like

      • BeWithUs March 10, 2014 / 8:11 am

        You’re welcome, my friend!

        Happy Monday and Cheers!! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

